Skip Navigation • Access Keys • Frequently Asked Questions •

Durham County Record Office: the official archive service for County Durham and Darlington

Electoral Registers

Information about electoral registers and absent voters' lists in Durham County Record Office.

Electoral registers are on microfilm and you need to make an appointment and book a microfilm reader before you visit.

County Durham Electoral Registers

Parliamentary electors 1833-1892 (ref. Q/D/PV 1-137)

County electors 1889-1915 (ref. CC/Cl 2/1-191)

Parliamentary electors 1893-1974 (ref. CC/Cl 1/1-916)

Parliamentary electors 1975-2008 (ref. DC/Cl 1/1-272)

Parliamentary electors 2009 to date (ref. DCC/RES 3/1)

Durham City Electoral Registers

Parliamentary and borough electors 1832-1869 (ref. Du 1/56/1-36)

County electors 1889-1915 (ref. CC/Cl 2/1-191)

From 1918 Durham city is covered by registers in the County Durham series (above).

Absent Voters' Lists, 1918

In late 1918, County Durham produced lists of Absent Voters - servicemen not at their home addresses. Some of these records are at the Record Office on microfilm.

The lists are divided into 11 divisions;

  • Barnard Castle
  • Bishop Auckland
  • Blaydon
  • Chester le Street
  • Consett
  • Durham
  • Houghton le Spring
  • Jarrow
  • Seaham
  • Sedgefield
  • Spennymoor

Each division is sub-divided into polling districts and parishes, with the names of the absent voters then listed - mostly in alphabetical order. So if you know the home address or even just the parish of a First world War soldier, it is possible to use these lists to trace him.

The Absent Voters' Lists usually give the full name, home address, and service details for each soldier, for example:

Morgan Sydney, 6 Aldin Grange Terrace, 16146 13th Battalion DLI.

Other surviving Absent Voters' Lists of 1918/19 are for:

  • Darlington (Darlington Town Hall)
  • Gateshead (Gateshead Library)
  • Hartlepool (Hartlepool Library)
  • Newcastle upon Tyne (Newcastle Central Library)

The Absent Voters' Lists probably no longer survive for:

  • South Shields
  • Stockton on Tees
  • Sunderland

For more detailed information about these records see the guides to Electoral registers and Land Tax assessments in our Information Leaflets series.